nihca

Course Tutors:  The Revd Derek Johnston, Fr Gerard Fox, Mrs Louise Wilson

A 10-week training course offered in conjunction with the NI Healthcare Chaplains’ Association, this is a course for those already involved in hospital visiting, either as part of a church pastoral care team or within a chaplaincy context.  Participants are asked to complete an application form and to provide a letter of reference from their minister/pastor/priest.

Places are limited on this course so early application is advised.

Please use this contact form to request an application form.

Course Programme

Thurs 21st Sept: Week 1: Introductions/Learning Objectives/Group Contract. Why care?  Reasons for hospital visitation.

Thurs 28th Sept: Week 2: Models of Pastoral Care; Awareness & Assumptions/Do’s & don’ts)

Thurs 5th Oct: Week 3: Communication; Opening & closing; Empathy and Silence

Thurs 12th Oct: Week 4: Thinking reflectively; Pastoral Role Play

Thurs 19th Oct: Week 5: Death and Dying; Palliative care

Thurs 26th Oct: Week 6: Loss histogram; Grief and Loss

Thurs 2nd Nov: Half-term Break

Thurs 9th Nov: Week 7: Spiritual Healthcare: Spiritual Pain; Where is God when it hurts?

Thurs 16th Nov: Week 8: Theology and practice; Rituals/Liturgies/Sacraments; Ethical dilemmas

Thurs 23rd Nov: Week 9: Team Work & Self-Care; More Pastoral Role Play

Thurs 30th Nov: Week 10: Personal and Pastoral Reflections; Evaluation

Course Tutors:

Fr Gerard Fox – Director of Formation St Malachy’s College, Catholic Chaplain BCH

Rev Derek Johnston – Director of Training NIHCA, Lead Chaplain Belfast HSC Trust

Mrs Louise Wilson – Training & Development Officer, Edgehill College

Dates

21st September – 30th November 2017

Thursday evenings 7.30 pm – 9.30 pm

Course Fee:  £75

(Please do not send in the course fee until your place has been confirmed.)